To Champion The Underdog, Part 3

LEFT BRAIN FUNCTIONS
uses logic
detail oriented
facts rule
words and language
present and past
math and science
can comprehend
knowing
acknowledges
order/pattern
perception
knows object name
reality based
forms strategies
practical
safe

RIGHT BRAIN FUNCTIONS
uses feeling
“big picture” oriented
imagination rules
symbols and images
present and future
philosophy & religion
can “get it” (i.e. meaning)
believes
appreciates
spatial perception
knows object function
fantasy based
presents possibilities
impetuous
risk taking

Looking at these lists, do you think you are right-brained or left-brained? I thought I was right-brained.

Look at the woman spinning below. Is she spinning clockwise or counterclockwise?

Spinning lady**

If she is spinning clockwise, you are right-brained. Counterclockwise, and you’re left brained. If you focus hard enough, you can change the dancer’s direction.

According to this dancer, I am left-brained. This was a shock. I don’t think of myself as left-brained. The same thing happened with my husband. At first, he was emphatic about being a left-brainer. When he saw the dancer turning clockwise, he forced her to turn the other way.

We both re-examined the list of our respective brain functions above and disagreed with the test’s assessment. He is definitely left-brained and I am absolutely right-brained.

Or so we thought.

An interesting thing happened the longer we looked at our lists. The harder we focused on them, the easier it became to acknowledge that they were mostly true. Apparently, if you focus hard enough, you can change the way you see yourself to better match the way the world sees you.

I wonder if the inverse is true. If you focused hard enough, could you change the world’s perception of you to better match what you know about yourself to be true?

My brother has started therapy. My hope for him is that one day, if he focuses hard enough, the world will see him the way I do.

_____________________________________________________________________________
**Lists of brain functions and image taken from the Herald Sun, “Right Brain v. Left Brain,” posted on October 9, 2007, available at: www.heraldsun.com.au

5 thoughts on “To Champion The Underdog, Part 3

  1. I think whether I am left brain or right changes on a daily basis. It was funny, as soon as I saw the dancer she was going counter clockwise, then instaneously she began spinning the other way. i guess it actually depends on the minute. And this minute I am right brained

  2. Soooo interesting! I’m right-brained and unable to change her direction looking at her. Out of the corner of my eye she changes direction. What does that mean? Maybe, just maybe, I see the reality of my life only in glimpses because no matter how hard I try to change direction, I am unable to?

      • I thought I was left at first…but re-reading the list, I knew I was right-brained. After a LONG time REALLY concentrating, she turned the other way! It freaked me out. Read an email and looked back…she was dancing in her old ways. LOL. Very cool entry. A posted it on facebook and seem to enjoy the entry.

Write a Comment

