To Be A Super Ninja, Part 2

Bailey is a public defender. She is a Virgo. Virgos are “still waters that run deep.”

Bailey starts every day with one thought: Please don’t let any of my clients go to jail today.

* * *

“Ma’am, I am the public defender assigned to represent you. You owe this court five days of community service, do you have proof of completion?”

“No.”

“Why not?”

“I had to work.”

“Ma’am, I must warn that you that there’s a good chance you will go to jail today.”

* * *

“Sir, your blood alcohol level is .16. That is twice the legal limit. You almost hit a police car. How much did you have to drink?”

“I only had two beers about two hours before I drove.”

“Sir, was there tequila in your beer!? You were twice the legal limit. Sir, I must warn you that there’s a good chance you will go to jail today.”

* * *

“Ma’am, the court file reflects that you were charged with a DUI and were supposed to come back to court in 2003 for a pretrial. You never showed up and a warrant was issued for your arrest. What happened? Why weren’t you in court?”

“Because I had a baby and just had a really hard time.”

“Ma’am, your baby is nine years old. I understand that you brought her to court with you today, but I must warn you that there is a good chance you will go to jail today.”

* * *

There is a sad symmetry to Bailey’s days.  A symmetry that can only come from tirelessly fighting against that which will inevitably happen.

 * * *

“Your honor, I know my client was supposed to come to court with proof of completion of community labor, but she was not able to do any. She has children. She has no child care. Fortunately, she recently got a job which will allow her to pay for child care while she does her community labor. Please don’t put her in jail.”

“Counsel, I do not believe in excuses. Your client should have thought about her children before she came to court with no proof. Your client is going to jail today.”

* * *

“Counsel, you know I am going to place your client in custody, right? He was driving with a blood alchol level that is twice the legal limit. He is a danger to society. He almost hit a police car.”

“Your honor, please. My client is undocumented. He denies the allegations alleged in the complaint. He would like the opportunity to fight his case out of custody.”

“Bailiff, set bail at $25,000. Counsel, your client is going to jail today.”

 * * *

“Your Honor, my client is a bench warrant walk-in from 2003. She had severe difficulties back then. She had a very hard pregnancy. She had postpartum depression as well. My client is finally back on track and wants to take care of this case. She has a minor child and a brand new job and humbly requests that she be given the chance to fight her case. Her life is back on track, your honor. Please give her one more chance. She’s trying to right her life’s wrongs. Please grant her a fighting chance.”

“I am sorry Counsel, your client is going to jail today. Ma’am, I don’t care that your child is here. I have already called social services.”

* * *

Bailey is a Virgo. Virgos “bring the art of self-concealment to a high pitch, hiding their apprehensiveness about themselves and their considerable sympathy toward other people under a mantle of matter-of-factness and undemonstrative, quiet reserve.”

Bailey is still water that runs deep. She ends every day with one thought: Please don’t let any of my clients go to jail tomorrow.

______________________________________________________________________
Virgo traits taken from here.

2 thoughts on “To Be A Super Ninja, Part 2

  1. This post truly affected me. As someone who believes in second chances, it broke me heart, particularly when people are trying to right their wrongs in their life. I admire people like Bailey. The world needs more people like her with a deep soul and the willingness to love the unlovable.

Write a Comment

