To Champion The Underdog, Part 4

It’s an imperfect process, championing the underdog. Most of the time you’re really just enabling.

en·a·ble /en-ey-buhl/
verb (used with object)
1.  to make able; give power, means, competence, or ability to; authorize

It sounds like it should be a good thing though, right? To give power? To make competent? How could that possibly be bad? But I suppose championing is a neverending process of one step forward, one step back. At least that’s better than one step forward, two steps back.

So I carry on. Not because I will save the world (I won’t), or because I believe that I make any real difference (I don’t), but because if I champion for you I will never give up.

cham·pi·on /cham-pee-uhn/
noun
1.  a  person who fights for or defends any person or cause
2.  a person who has defeated all opponents in a competition or series of competitions, so as to hold first place

You will be a better person for it. You will have no other choice.

Write a Comment

