To Work At A Circus — A Day In The Life

IMG_1449 (2)

12:38 a.m.: On my way home from work. Long day yesterday!

IMG_1450 (2)12:50 a.m.: We don’t get any trick-or-treaters, but I decorate our front porch anyway. It makes me happy every time I pull into our driveway, especially after a long day’s work.  

IMG_1451 (2)

12:57 a.m.: I have a lot of work to do so naturally I’m procrastinating. I got some Halloween pillows in the mail that I ordered online for the front porch. I thought they were pillows, but they’re just the covers. I go searching for some pillow stuffing.
IMG_1453 (2)1:15 a.m.: I only found two pillows with removable stuffing.

IMG_1452 (2)1:25 a.m.: More procrastinating.

IMG_1455 (2)1:30 a.m.: Start preparing for today’s deposition at 9:00 a.m. on the other side of town. Los Angeles is funny. You should be able to get anywhere in Los Angeles in 20 minutes with the extensive freeway system, but I know I’ll have to leave my house at 7:30 a.m. just to make sure I get there on time.

2:30 a.m.: Start final revisions to motion for summary judgment. It’s due tomorrow. More coffee.

4:18 a.m.: 10 minute nap.

6:15 a.m.: Motion finished, I climb into bed for a 45 minute nap.

IMG_1017 (2)

7:00 a.m.: Time to wake up! Snuggle with these cuddlebugs. Jump in the shower. Wrangle my hair. Throw on a suit.

7:36 a.m.: Grab coffee and an English muffin. Out the door.

9:02 a.m.: Arrive at deposition. Alas, no whistleblower testimony today.

1:05 p.m.: Leave deposition and head back to the office. Traffic into downtown is unusually slow so it takes me a little longer than usual to travel the 10 miles.

IMG_1462 (2)

1:43 p.m.: Return to office. Back to work.

1:47 p.m.: Every minute of my day is accounted for. Today, I triage my emails and voicemail for 15 minutes. Then I enter all of my billable time from yesterday and release it to accounting. This takes about 10 minutes. I dictate a summary of this morning’s deposition, draft a client status letter, return 2 phone calls, and take 4 calls. IMG_14964:04 p.m.: Coffee break. Take a peek out the window. Enjoy the view. Catch up with coworkers.

4:24 p.m.: Draft deposition notices (4 total). Draft 17 emails. Begin drafting responses to written discovery — 357 interrogatories and requests for production, total. No, this is not normal. Google the attorney who propounded the discovery.

5:50 p.m.: Rush downstairs to the food court to grab a sandwich for dinner before everything closes.

6:05 p.m.: Eat dinner. Google. Houzz. Amazon. Pinterest. Just Jared. Levo. Humans of New York. New York Times.

7:00 p.m.: Continue drafting responses to written discovery. Coffee. Triage tomorrow’s calendar. Enter today’s billable entries. Draft mediation brief.

10:12 p.m.: 30 minute nap at desk.

IMG_1337 (2)

10:42 p.m.: Text from hubs: “We’re going to bed. Come home.” Work two more hours.

12:50 a.m.: Leave the office.

IMG_1479 (2)

1:05 a.m.: Halfway home.

IMG_1527

1:30 a.m.: Bedtime. I’m so tired I don’t even bother to was my face or brush my teeth. Good night!

One thought on “To Work At A Circus — A Day In The Life

Write a Comment

